Cannabis Cultivator: Self-Inspection Checklist

This checklist is designed to help you review the conditions of your cannabis cultivation (including nursery or processing) facility in preparation for an inspection by Department of Cannabis Control (Department) staff. The items listed below represent the major areas evaluated during a routine compliance inspection. The requirements come from division 10 of the California Business and Professions Code (BPC) and California Code of Regulations, title 4 (4 CCR), which are available at the Department's website: California's cannabis laws Please be aware that this checklist is not an exhaustive list or substitute for ensuring compliance with all applicable statutory and regulatory requirements for your license type.

Quick checklist

	Premises and cultivation plan documents
	Designated canopy areas
	Pesticides
	Water source
	Power source and generators
	Light pollution
	Weighing devices and weighmaster requirements
	Records
	entory management and track and trace requirements (4 CCR §§ 15000.1, 00.7, 15047.1-15052.1)
	, ,
1500	00.7, 15047.1-15052.1)
1500	On.7, 15047.1-15052.1) Immature cannabis plant lots:



Cannabis Cultivator: Self-Inspection Checklist

Revised: 04.25.2024

Inventory management and track and trace requirements

	Harvested plants that are hanging, drying, or curing have been assigned a unique harvest batch name in the track and trace system, and a label with the harvest batch name is placed next to the batch.				
	Harvest batches that have finished drying, curing, grading, and/or trimming have been assigned a package UID tag.				
	All harvest batches are assigned a package tag that is recorded in the track and trace system. Package tags are affixed to the container holding the cannabis. If cannabis is held in multiple containers, the package tag is affixed to one of the containers and the remaining containers (and units within each container) are labeled with the UID number and placed contiguous to one another.				
	The following activities have been entered in the track and trace system within 24 hours of each occurrence: receipt of cannabis, rejection of cannabis, use of cannabis or cannabis product for internal quality control testing or product research and development, destruction or disposal of cannabis, packaging or repackaging of cannabis, and sale or donation of cannabis or cannabis products.				
	The following cultivation activities have been entered in the track and trace system within three (3) calendar days of occurrence: planting of an immature lot, movement of plants to the designated canopy area, flowering of an individual plant, application of an individual plant tag, destruction or disposal of plants, and harvesting of mature plants.				
	On-site cannabis and cannabis product inventory is reconciled with the track and trace system at least once every 30 days.				
	All transfers of cannabis material or plants onto or off of the cultivation premises are conducted by a licensed distributor, and transfer manifests are created in the track and trace system before the transfer occurs.				
	All cannabis material is stored within the licensed premises and in an indoor harvest storage area (i.e., no outdoor storage or storage in employee bathroom and changing facilities).				
Premises and cultivation plan documents (4 CCR §§ 15000, 15006, 15027, 16309)					
	The approved premises diagram on file with the Department is a complete and detailed diagram of the premises and accurately reflects the current layout of the premises. Use the How To: Make a Premises Diagram Checklist to make sure your premises diagram includes all required information listed in section 15006 of the Department's regulations.				
	The approved cannabis waste management and pest management plans on file with the Department accurately reflect the premises' current operations.				
	For mixed-light and indoor licenses, the lighting diagram on file with the Department accurately reflects the location and maximum wattage of all lights in the designated canopy area(s), and the average lighting (watts per square foot of canopy) is within the limit of the license type.				
	Note: If lighting fixtures with a range of available wattage are used, use the maximum possible wattage to calculate average lighting.				



	 Mixed-Light Tier 1: no more than 6 watts per square foot 				
	 Mixed-Light Tier 2: above 6 and no more than 25 watts per square foot 				
	□ Indoor: More than 25 watts per square foot				
	Example for a Mixed-Light Tier 2 Cultivation License:				
	Greenhouse with 5 rows of 5' x 50' beds = 1,250 square feet of canopy				
	5 rows of 10 lights x 500 watts per light = 25,000 watts				
	Average lighting = $(25,000 \text{ watts}) / (1,250 \text{ sq ft}) = 20 \text{ watts} / \text{sq ft}$				
	Prior to making alterations to the premises or operations, updated versions of the above documents must be submitted to the Department for review and approval. This can be achieved via the submittal of a Science Amendment in the Department's licensing portal.				
Desi	gnated canopy areas (4 CCR §§ 15000.1, 16201, 16308)				
	All canopy areas (any areas that will, at any point, contain mature/flowering plants) are marked with clearly identifiable physical boundaries, such as interior walls, shelves, greenhouse walls, hoop house walls, garden benches, hedgerows, fencing, garden beds, garden plots, or stakes delineating the perimeter.				
	No portion of the plants are hanging over the established canopy area boundaries. If plants are overhanging the canopy area boundaries, Department staff or representatives will measure to the outer edge of the plants in order to calculate the total canopy area in use.				
	The total aggregate canopy area does not exceed the license type limit.				
Pest	icides (4 CCR § 16307)				
	Site operations are in compliance with all pesticide statutes and regulations enforced by the Department of Pesticide Regulation.				
	When not actively in use, all pesticides and agricultural chemicals are stored in a secure building or shed to prevent access by wildlife.				
	All pesticide containers are properly labeled, and all pesticides are being used in compliance with label directions.				
	All chemical leaks and spills have been contained and immediately cleaned up.				
	Pesticides are being applied in such a way that they: are not sprayed directly to surface water or allowed to drift to surface water, are not applied when they may reach surface water or groundwater, do not drift offsite, do not drift to flowering plants attractive to pollinators, are not applied when pollinators are present, and are applied in the minimum amount necessary to control the target pest.				
Wate	er source (BPC, § 26060.1; 4 CCR §§ 15002, 15011, 15027, 16304, 16311)				
	All water sources in use for cultivation have been identified for the Department as part of a complete application for an annual license. Plans to add a new water source or change existing				



		sources must be submitted to the Department via a <u>Science Amendment</u> and approved Department prior to the water source(s) being used.		
	The licensed premises is currently enrolled in an order or waiver of waste discharge requirements with the State Water Resources Control Board or the appropriate Regional Water Quality Control Board, and evidence of enrollment or exemption (e.g., a Notice of Applicability or Notice of Non-Applicability) can be provided to the Department upon request.			
	purpo	All water sources are approved for cannabis cultivation. Water sources only approved for other purposes (for example, springs or diversions approved for domestic use) may not be used for cannabis cultivation.		
		A copy of a final lake or streambed alteration agreement issued by the California Department of Fish and Wildlife, or written verification from the California Department of Fish and Wildlife that a lake and streambed alteration agreement is not required, is on file with the Department.		
		Evidence of enrollment in an order, or waiver of waste discharge requirements with the State Water Resources Control Board or the appropriate Regional Water Quality Control Board is on file with the Department.		
	If a diversion has been approved for cultivation by the Department:			
		All conditions of the Lake and Streambed Alteration Agreement (LSAA) issued by the California Department of Fish and Wildlife are being met. This includes, but is not limited to: complying with the given forbearance period (i.e., the time period when the licensee is not allowed to divert water), only using approved points of diversion, and not exceeding the maximum diversion rate.		
		A valid Small Irrigation Use Registration (SIUR) is maintained with the State Water Resources Control Board.		
Pow	er sou	arce and generators (4 CCR §§ 15011, 15027, 16306)		
	For mixed-light and indoor licenses, the power source on file with the Department accurately reflects the power sources used for on-site cultivation activities (e.g., lighting, heating, cooling, and ventilation). Plans to add a new power source must be submitted to the Department via a <u>Science Amendment</u> and approved by the Department prior to the power source being used.			
	Licensees who use diesel generators rated at fifty (50) horsepower and greater are able to provide the following to the Department upon request:			
		For portable engines, a Portable Equipment Registration Certificate provided by the California Air Resources Board or a Permit to Operate or other proof of engine registration obtained from the Local Air Quality Management District.		
		For stationary engines, a Permit to Operate or other proof of engine registration obtained from the Local Air Quality Management District.		
		sees who use diesel generators rated below fifty (50) horsepower are able to demonstrate neir generator:		



		Meets the "emergency" or "emergency use" definition for stationary engines in title 17 of the California Code of Regulations, section 93115.4(a)(30), or is operated eighty (80) hours or less in a calendar year.		
		Meets Tier 3/Level 3 diesel particulate filter requirements or Tier 4 requirements (or current engine requirements if more stringent).		
	All die	esel generators are equipped with non-resettable hour-meters.		
Ligh	nt poll	ution (4 CCR § 16304)		
	All outdoor lights used for safety or security purposes are shielded and downward facing.			
	Lights used for indoor or mixed-light cultivation are shielded from sunset to sunrise to reduce nighttime glare.			
Wei	ghing	devices and weighmasters (4 CCR § 17221)		
	Weighing devices are approved, tested, sealed, and are currently registered with the county sealer.			
	A vali	d and current weighmaster license can be provided to the Department.		
		All individuals who weigh, measure, or count cannabis or cannabis products when conducting commercial transactions or for entry into the track and trace system are included on the valid weighmaster license.		
	_	nmaster certificates are obtained when payment is dependent on the quantity or weight of abis or cannabis product.		
Rec	ords (4 CCR §§ 15037, 15039, 16311, 17223)		
	A valid copy of the current State-issued license is prominently displayed on the licensed premises where it can be viewed by state and local agencies.			
	Up-to-date copies of all license application materials, including cultivation plan documents (premises diagram, waste management plan, and pest management plan), are available for Department review.			
	If cannabis waste is hauled or self-hauled off the licensed premises, waste receipts for each instance of hauling are available for Department review.			
	Ifaw	aste-hauling service is used, hauling service bills are available for Department review.		
	If the cultivation water source is a retail supplier (hauling or municipal), water service bills o will serve letter are available for Department review.			
	If the cannabis business employs two or more people, evidence that one supervisor and one employee have completed a Cal-OSHA 30-hour general industry outreach course are availab for Department review.			
		cords in connection with the licensed commercial cannabis business are kept available for rtment review for at least seven years from the date of creation, including, but not limited		



to: financial records; personnel records; training records; contracts; permits, licenses, and other local authorizations; and all documents prepared or executed in connection with the licensed commercial cannabis business.

□ Within 60 days of a licensee employing 20 or more employees (10 employees beginning July 1, 2024), the licensee shall provide to the Department a notarized statement that the licensee will enter into a labor peace agreement and will abide by the terms of the agreement or demonstrate that the commercial cannabis business has entered into a labor peace agreement by providing a copy of the signature page of the agreement.

Other requirements

Cal/OSHA

Our industry is unique, but the fundamental business requirements to keep your employees safe still apply. In accordance with California law, employers must meet a range of safe workplace requirements overseen by Cal/OSHA. Make sure your business is Cal/OSHA-compliant to maintain your active license status.

Cannabis Industry Health and Safety (Department of Cannabis Control Website)

The Department of Cannabis Control (DCC) licenses and regulates commercial cannabis activity within California. To learn more about the California cannabis market, state licenses or laws, visit cannabis.ca.gov. Email questions to info@cannabis.ca.gov or call 1-844-61-CA-DCC (1-844-612-2322).



Cannabis Cultivator: Self-Inspection Checklist Revised: 04.25.2024